Open every day from 8.30am.
Kitchen open from 11.30 am to 22.30 .
Snacks: Weekdays until 23h - Weekends until 24h.

Sint-Baafsplein

’t Vosken at the Sint-Baafsplein in Ghent

In the center of Ghent , close to the city’s tourist attractions, that’s where you’ll find ‘t Vosken. The perfect location to taste, breathe and experience Ghent to its full potential. You can marvel at Ghent’s stunning belfry or its breathtakingly beautiful Saint Bavo Cathedral. Maybe you’d rather pay a visit to the famous theatre NTGent, enjoy a cold drink in the Belfry’s shade or strengthen your inner self with a hearty Ghent meal.

Enjoy the terrace next to the Ghent Belfry

Michael Kranewitter

© Michael Kranewitter

Ghent’s single most popular tourist attraction is beyond the shadow of a doubt the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its rich art heritage. There you can admire the famous paintings of Rubens, but the art piece that attracts tourists from all over the world to the cathedral is the Ghent Altarpiece (also called the Adoration of the Mystic Lamb or the Lamb of God) painted by the brothers Jan and Hubert Van Eyck. The best-known panel of the Lamb of God is called ‘The Just Judges’, notoriously known for being stolen over 80 years ago. The triptych is currently under restauration, an operation that will take at least five years to complete. Nonetheless, the Lamb of God will remain accessible in the Saint Bavo Cathedral. Keep in mind, however, that it will be missing some panels.

The Saint Bavo Cathedral is open from 8:30 to 18:00. In winter the Cathedral closes an hour early. Price: €4.

Just a few metres away you’ll find the Ghent Belfry, a remnant of richer days past, when cities could afford building non-religious buildings. Belgium offers many fine examples of this type of bell tower. The ones in Ypres, Mechelen and Oudenaarde might just be worth a visit. Special about Ghent’s tower are the cloth hall and clergy house, nicknamed Mammelokker, attached to it. The latter one is characterised by a special relief on the tympanum: the relief depicts a woman breastfeeding an older man. The scene refers to a Roman legend, nicknamed the ‘Mammelokker legend’.

The Belfry is open every day from 10:00 to 18:00.Price: €6 . Unless you live in Ghent, then it’s only €4.5.

Fountain and statue of Jan-Frans Willems

A free attraction is the gorgeously modern fountain on the Sint-Baafsplein with a statue of Jan-Frans Willems in the middle of it. This famous Belgian liberal-minded politician fiercely opposed the then government’s language policy that privileged French-speaking people over those whose native language was Dutch. As a cofounder of the Flemish Movement Willems managed to promote Flemish culture and language through various initiatives. Jan-Frans Willems is buried in the Campo Santo cemetery in Sint-Amandsberg, which is also an absolute must-see, If you can spare the time. It’s the Belgian equivalent of France’s Père Lachaise cemetery.

Cultural activities in NTGent and Miryzaal

The theatre NTGent is the home of the Royal Dutch Theatre (KNS). NTGent represents its own theatre company with a fixed group of actors, among which are An Miller, Els Dottermans, Frank Focketyn en Wim Opbrouck.

If you love classical music, you will be well-catered for at the Miryzaal in the Royal Conservatory of Ghent. Enjoy the hall’s excellent acoustics in one of the 500 seats of the recently renovated and redecorated hall.

Ibis Hotel: a beautiful hotel in the city center

Hotel_Ibis_logo_2012

If you took your time to visit the attractions above, then you might be eager to have a good night’s rest. The Ibis Hotel is the ideal place to go, as it’s also located at the Saint Bavo Square. It might be a good idea to go shopping after a day full of culture and history. Shoppingcenter Zuid, Veldstraat and Lange Munt are just around the corner.

Be sure to check out the website of Visit Gent: the guide for all that happens in and around Ghent !

It sure is convenient that just about everything is within reach at the Sint-Baafsplein. ‘t Vosken might just be the perfect place to start your visit!

Book a table

Ouvert tous les jours de 8h30.
Cuisine ouverte de 11h30 à 22h30 .
Snacks: en semaine jusqu'à 23h - Week-end à 24h.

Sint-Baafsplein

‘t Vosken sur la place Saint-Bavo à Gand.

Dans le centre de Gand, près des attractions touristiques de la ville, vous trouverez la brasserie ‘t Vosken. Un endroit confortable où vous pourrez goûter, respirer et découvrir Gand. Vous pourrez admirer des monuments célèbres tels que le beffroi et la magnifique cathédrale Saint-Bavo. Vous pouvez aller au temple de la culture NTGent, rehausser vos apéritifs à l’ombre du beffroi ou de l’homme intérieur lors d’un copieux repas gantois.

Profitez de la terrasse entre le beffroi et l’Agneau de Dieu

L’attraction de Gand est la cathédrale Saint-Bavoavec son riche patrimoine d’art. Vous les trouverez avec des peintures de Rubens, mais le tableau qui attire les touristes du monde entier dans la cathédrale est l’Agneau de Dieu de Jan et Hubert Van Eyck. La partie la plus célèbre de l’Agneau de Dieu est le panneau “Les juges justes”, connu pour son “voleur audacieux”, il y a 80 ans. Le triptyque fait actuellement l’objet d’une restauration en profondeur, opération qui prendra cinq ans. Tout au long de la restauration, l’Agneau de Dieu (moins les panneaux en cours de restauration) restera dans la cathédrale Saint-Bavo.

La cathédrale Saint-Bavo est ouverte de 8h30 à 18h00. En hiver , la cathédrale ferme une heure plus tôt. Prix:4 EUR.

Le beffroiest également à proximité. Le beffroi est un vestige des temps plus riches, quand plusieurs villes ont construit des bâtiments non-ecclésiastiques. Il existe de nombreux exemples de telles promesses en Belgique, il suffit de penser aux beffrois d’Ypres, Malines ou Audenarde. La particularité du beffroi de Gand est la construction d’une halle aux draps. Le Mammelokker est une autre partie du beffroi. La maison du pasteur se caracterisé par un relief spécial sur le tympan: la scène représente une femme qui donne le sein à un homme plus âgé. C’est une vielle “légende urbaine” de Gand.

Le beffroi est ouvert tous les jours de 10h00 à 18h00. Le prix d’entrée est de 6 euros. Les habitants de Gand payent 4,5 euros.

Sur la place Saint-Bavo: fontaine et statue Jan-Frans Willems


Gratuitement à visiter la belle et moderne fontaine et au milieu de la fontaine la statue Jan-Frans Willems.Le célèbre libéral belge était fortement opposé à la politique française du gouvernement belge de l’époque. Willems a réussi à lancer toutes sortes d’initiatives visant à promouvoir la culture et la langue flamandes. Ainsi, il se trouvait au berceau du Mouvement flamand dans le début de la Belgique. Jan-Frans Willems est enterré au cimetière Campo Santo à Sint-Amandsberg. Campo Santo est également fortement récommandé: l’homologue belge du cimetière français du Père Lachaise.

Renifler la culture dans NTGent et le Miryzaal

Le temple du théâtre Royal Dutch Theatre (KNS) abrite le NTGent(théâtre néerlandais de Gand). NTGent représente sa propre société avec une groupe d’acteurs fixe. An Millier, Els Dottermans, Frank Focketyn et Wim Opbrouck font partie du groupe d’acteurs habituels.

Les amateurs de musique classique en auront pour leur argent dans la salle de concert Milydu Conservatoire Royal de Gand. Dans le Hoogpoort, sur l’Achtersikkelpleintje, vous pourrez assister à des concerts classiques, à des concerts symphoniques ou à des concerts de musique de chambre. La salle est assez grande, environ 500 places et possède une excellente acoustique. Le Miryzaal a récemment été complètement restauré et redécoré.

Hôtel Ibis: un bel hôtel au coeur de Gand

Hotel_Ibis_logo_2012

Si vous avez déjà visité et vu tout ce qui précède, rien ne sera aussi bien que de vous laisser tomber dans un virage de votre hôtel. L’hôtel Ibisest idéal pour cela: situé également sur la place Saint-Bavo, c’est une bonne idée de sortir faire les magasins après une journée riche en culture et en histoire. Les centres commerciaux Zuid, Veldstraat et Lange Munt ne sont pas loin.

Ne manquez pas de visiter le site de Visit Gent: le guide de tous les habitants de Gand.

Ce qui est pratique, c’est que tout sur la Sint-Baafsplein est si proche. Depuis la brasserie ‘t Vosken, tout est accessible en un rien de temps. c’est donc la base idéale pour visiter Gand!
Réserver une table